The Indonesian Ministry of Transportation recorded 33 number of defunct port projects. The port project is spread across Indonesia with a total budget of Rp 2.8 trillion. In Riau Islands there are three ports that are now left unfinished. Namely Dompak Port, Tanjung Moco Port, and Tanjung Berakit Port. Public Attorney and Police are eying the existing deviation, although still waiting for the calculation of central government audit authority.

Originally part of the Riau province, the Riau Islands were split off as a separate province in September 2002. Riau island province comprises of the principal group of the Riau Archipelago along with other island groups to the south, east and northeast. Ports and ships become the main vein for the local economics as well as Seaplane and smaller airports on specific major islands.

The island of Batam, which lies within the central core group of islands (the Riau Archipelago), contains a majority of the province’s population. Since becoming part of an economic zone with Singapore in 2006, it has experienced high population growth rates. Other highly populated islands in the Riau Archipelago include Bintan and Karimun, while the archipelago also includes islands such as Bulan and Kundur. There are around 3,200 islands in the province, which has its capital at Tanjung Pinang in the south of Bintan Island.

The Riau Islands province includes the Lingga Islands to the south of the main Riau Archipelago, while to the northeast lies the Tudjuh Archipelago, between Borneo and mainland Malaysia; the Tudjuh Archipelago consists of four distinct groups — the Anambas IslandsNatuna IslandsTambelanislands and Badas Islands — which were attached to the new province, though not geographically part of the Riau Archipelago. The 2015 census count was 1,968,313, less than estimated but nevertheless the second fastest growing province in Indonesia.

Head of Department of Transportation (Dishub) of Riau Islands Jamhur Ismail said, there are four ports spread in Riau Islands and built through the State Budget (APBN) by the Ministry of Transportation (Kemenhub) RI. “We expect the ports will be completed and will benefit the people in the region,” said Jamhur in Tanjungpinang, Tuesday (1/5/2018). He mentioned that the four unfinished ports are: Tanjung Berakit port in Bintan Regency, where the construction has been budgeted from APBN since 2014-2017.

In addition Malarko port in Tanjung Balai Karimun unfinished with budget from APBN and has been budgeted since 2012-2014. “In Tanjungpinang is in Dompak, this port for passengers where budgeted through the state budget since 2013-2015. And the port of Tanjung Mocoh, Dompak in Tanjungpinang through APBN since 2013-2015 and currently not completed, “he said.

A total of four port development projects in Riau Islands terbangkalai. The four ports are: Tanjung Berakit Port in Bintan, Malarko Port in Karimun, Dompak Port, and Tanjung Mocoh Port in Tanjungpinang.

Riau Islands Province was established based on Law No. 25 of 2002 is the 32nd Province in Indonesia covering Tanjungpinang City, Batam City, Bintan Regency, Karimun Regency, Natuna Regency, Lingga Regency and Anambas Regency.

Overall the Riau Islands region consists of 5 districts and 2 cities, 42 subdistricts and 256 villages with 2,408 big and small islands where 40% have not been named and populated. The total area is 252.601 Km2, where 95% of it is ocean and only 5% is land area, with boundaries as follows:

North Vietnam and Cambodia
South Bangka Belitung and Jambi
West SingaporeMalaysia and Riau
East MalaysiaBrunei and West Kalimantan

With strategic geographical location (between South China Sea, Malacca Strait and Karimata Strait) and supported by potential nature potential, seafare and ports are essential to make Riau Islands as one of the economic growth centers for the Republic of Indonesia in the future. Especially now in some areas in the Riau Islands (Batam, Bintan and Karimun) is being pursued as a pilot project for the development of Special Economic Zones (KEK) through cooperation with the Singapore regime.

The implementation of the SEZ policy in Batam-Bintan-Karimun, is a close cooperation between the central government and local government, and the participation of business world. This KEK will be the nodes of the leading economic activity centers, supported by excellent service facilities and internationally competitive infrastructure capacity. Every business actor located within it will receive services and facilities of the highest quality that can compete with best practices from similar areas in Asia-Pacific. However, as those 3 main ports left defunct, who will be responsible for such malicious project? will we see another public parties of politician wearing orange suits? We do hope this matter can be ressolved as soon as possible.




What's on your mind?